Monday, July 15, 2024
Amana Water Park
HomeNational NewsManuel Argel Jr. named acting member of Social Security Commission

Manuel Argel Jr. named acting member of Social Security Commission

CITY OF MALOLOS, Bulacan — The Social Security System (SSS) announces the appointment of Commissioner Manuel L. Argel Jr. as Acting Member of the Social Security Commission (SSC), the highest governing board of the SSS, representing the Employers’ Group.

Commissioner Argel, who was first appointed as a member of the SSC in September 2019, is a member of its Audit Committee and Risk Management and Investments Committee, and the SSS Nominee-Director in the Boards of Philippine Long Distance Telephone Co. and Philam Life Tower Management Corporation.

Commissioner Argel is a retired Regional Trial Court Judge for Laoag City, Ilocos Norte, and a member of the Judiciary for 20 years. He served as the Executive Judge of RTC Laoag from 2005 to 2007 and was a Presidential Assistant for Region I in the Philippine Judges Association.

Prior to his service in the judicial branch, Commissioner Argel was a private law practitioner for 20 years. In 1995, he was accredited as a Voluntary Labor Arbitrator of the Department of Labor and Employment National Conciliation and Mediation Board. He also held various positions in the Integrated Bar of the Philippines – Ilocos Sur Chapter, National Citizen’s Movement for Free Elections, Ilocos Sur Local Amnesty Board, and People’s Assistance Development Action Center, Inc.

In addition, he served in the legislative branch when he was elected in 1980 as a member of the Sangguniang Bayan of Vigan City. He was given the Legislator’s Award by the City Government of Vigan in 2008 in recognition of his accomplishments and contributions as a former legislator of the city.

Commissioner Argel is a distinguished alumnus of San Beda University, where he obtained both his Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy and Bachelor of Laws Degrees. He is also a Charter Grand Knight and Lecturer-Member of the Knights of Columbus.

Other members of the SSC are Secretary of Finance Benjamin E. Diokno (ex officio Chairperson); SSS President and CEO Rolando L. Macasaet (Vice-Chairperson); Secretary of Labor and Employment Bienvenido E. Laguesma (ex officio Member); and Commissioners Diana Pardo Aguilar, Anita Bumpus-Quitain, Jose C. Julio, Robert Joseph M. De Claro, and Eva B. Arcos. (UnliNews Online)

Manny D. Balbin
Manny D. Balbin
Emmanuel "Manny" Dineros Balbin, founder and editor-in-chief of UNLINEWS ONLINE and UNLINEWS Digital Newspaper, is a former seminarian of Oblates of Mary Immaculate (OMI) in Notre Dame University Seminary in Cotabato City. Graduated college with Philosophy and Political Science courses at the University of Santo Tomas, Legazpi City. A former Journal Group of Publication (People's Journal, People's Tonight, Taliba & Women's Journal) staffer for 17 years. Before, he simultaneously contributed news articles to 3 local newspapers in Bulacan (NewsCore, MetroNews & NewsWatcher). He is the founder and the former editor-in-chief of RONDA Balita, both in weekly newspaper and online news. A former Kabayan provincial reporter, 2010 Bulacan election correspondent by Rappler and presently, a stringer of Philippine News Agency (PNA) Bulacan.


Most Popular

Recent Comments